the first day

my lovely turkey burger with caramelized onions

Yesterday was officially my first day home. After a long drive and far too much heavy lifting (I honestly do not know how I fit so much STUFF in my dorm room), I was a mean child and convinced my mom that we needed to cook and not go out to dinner.

Randomly, I had a strong craving for a turkey burger, but after searching through all of our cookbooks as well as surfing the web, my mom and I could not find a basic recipe. Everyone seems to like turkey burgers with papaya salsa or soy sauce or some other untraditional burger flavoring. We wanted traditional.

My poor mom was about ready to just grill chicken, but we decided to create our own recipe instead. Pretty ambitious for the first night! As it turned out, they were the best turkey burgers I’ve ever had. My mom could not stop talking about them and even my brother (a ground beef type of guy) liked them. Our extra special touch? Caramelized onions.

Jessica and Nancy’s Turkey Burgers

*Note: We did not necessarily measure the ingredients exactly, but I honestly think guestimating might be the best option anyways.

1 lb. ground turkey (half white meat and half dark meat)
1/4 cup white onion, chopped
3 tbls. green onion, finely chopped
1 tsp. worcestershire sauce
1 tsp. dijon mustard
1 tbls. ketchup
garlic powder
salt
pepper

  1. Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl
  2. Shape the burgers into patties (we made three)
  3. Preheat the grill to medium high heat
  4. Grill about 5 minutes per side or until done and delicious


Caramelized Onions

1 purple onion, sliced
1 tbls. olive oil

  1. Heat the olive oil in a large, nonstick skillet
  2. Over medium high heat, sauté the onions until they are soft and limp (about 15 or 20 minutes, we kept them warm over low heat until we were ready to use them
Leave a Reply

